The City of Stirling (map) is located in the northern suburbs, about 8km from the Perth CBD. With its close proximity to the CBD, strong financial position and unique mix of opportunities, the City takes a leadership role in fostering growth in business, inward investment, job creation and tourism within the region. With a population of over 219,000, the City of Stirling is the largest local government by population in the state and the second largest employment district in Western Australia after the Perth CBD. The City encompasses a total land area of about 100 square kilometres and incorporates 30 suburbs.

Key employment sectors include retail, manufacturing, health and education. Stirling’s major retail centres include Westfield Innaloo, Karrinyup, Mirrabooka Square and Dianella Plaza. Significant industrial areas are located in Balcatta, Hamersley, and Osborne Park. Stirling features three tertiary institutions (Central TAFE, Edith Cowan University and Swan TAFE), one major public hospital (Osborne Park), one major private hospital (Mercy) and numerous public and private schools.

Stirling has a number of strategic advantages – its unique mix of location; cultures; major transport links; beaches; bushland; facilities and services; options for recreation and leisure; high quality retail and commercial centres; restaurants, cinemas, tourist accommodation; and available industrial land make it a natural hub for economic and tourist activity.

This website presents economic and demographic insights for the City of Stirling. For further information and assistance in relation to business and investment please contact the City's Economic Development Officer, telephone (08) 9205 8904.