The Shire of Muswellbrook (map) is centrally located in the Upper Hunter Valley, approximately 130km north-west of Newcastle. Lake Liddell delineates the Muswellbrook Shire boundary to the east, Wollemi National Park to the west, Aberdeen to the north and Coricudgy State Forest to the south. Muswellbrook Shire covers 3,402km², of which 1,455km (43%) is national parks. Muswellbrook Shire consists of two larger towns, Muswellbrook and Denman, as well as a number of outlying rural communities including Sandy Hollow, Wybong, Baerami, Martindale, Widden, McCullys Gap and Muscle Creek.

Industry in Muswellbrook Shire includes agriculture, viticulture, equine, power generation and coal mining. Muswellbrook Shire is the main centre for New South Wales’ power generation capacity. It has become the major centre of Upper Hunter coal mining, with the largest concentration of open cut mining operations and major expansion of mining approvals over the last few years and the second highest rate of coal extraction in New South Wales.

This website presents economic and demographic insights for Muswellbrook. For further information and assistance in relation to business and investment please contact the Muswellbrook Shire Council Economic Development Team on ph: 02 6549 3730.