The Buloke Shire is located in north-western Victoria, between 210 and 360 kilometres north-west of Melbourne. The Buloke Shire (map) is bounded by Mildura and Swan Hill Rural Cities in the north, Gannawarra and Loddon Shires in the east, Northern Grampians Shire in the south, and Yarriambiack Shire in the west.The Shire is a predominantly rural area. The main townships are Birchip, Charlton, Donald, Sea Lake and Wycheproof. Smaller townships include Berriwillock, Culgoa, Nandaly, Nullawil and Watchem.

The Buloke Shire encompasses a total land area of approximately 8,000 square kilometres. It is approximately 140 kilometres long and 60 kilometres wide. Two main highways, the Calder Highway and the Sunraysia Highway, run north and south through the Buloke Shire. Land is used largely for agriculture, particularly grain (wheat, oats and barley) production and sheep grazing.

This website presents economic and demographic insights for Buloke Shire. For further information in relation to business and investment in Buloke, please contact Council’s Economic Development Team ~ telephone 1300 520 520.